Alumbra 2022
Visit of DSWD Secretary Erwin Tulfo
December 2, 2022
December 9, 2022
The City Government of Isabela under the administration of Mayor Sitti Djalia Turabin-Hataman through its City Tourism Office headed by City Tourism Officer Claudio Ramos II held the Alumbra 2022: The Christmas Display Switch-on and a Cantapayapaan Peace Concert, December 02 at Plaza Rizal.
Vice Mayor Jhul Kifli Salliman welcomed everyone to the joyful event and encouraged all those in attendance to join the Christian brothers and sisters in their celebration, as happiness symbolizes a brighter and more spiritual light of hope. It was followed by Rev. Msgr. Jose Roel Casas of the Prelature of Isabela de Basilan Sta. Isabela Parish who delivered an Advent message.
In her message, Mayor Turabin-Hataman expressed gratitude for another opportunity to demonstrate the possibility and reality of unity and diversity: “The fact that we can come together and carry on this tradition shows that Isabela City welcomes people of all faiths and religions. Everything we have and will achieve is because we face challenges and celebrate together.”
During the countdown, Mayor Turabin-Hataman was joined by Vice Mayor Salliman, city councilors, the city’s 45 barangay chairs, city department head, and other stakeholders. Simultaneously, the Christmas lights were turned on at Isabela City Hall, James Walter Strong Boulevard, and the Bridge of Lights.
The Dolphin Warriors Band took the lead in introducing live performances to entertain the crowds. It was followed by a song for peace contest in which 9 students from various schools in the city who sang their rendition of peace and was judged BGH Dr. Jesus Raniel Mon, Councilor Karel Sakkalahul, PIA IX Asst. Regional Director Rene Carbayas and Lantawan Municipality Tourism Officer Noraina Zacarias.
Jane Kenvie Nayona of Claret College of Isabela won the Cantapayapaan Peace Concert, followed by Leandro Bala of Basilan National High School-Night and Rhea Ann Pioquinto of Begang National High School.
The event was attended by BM Amin Hataman, City Councilors, namely: Jeromy Casas, Abner Rodriguez, ABC President Tammy Ismael, Khaledsheer Asarul, Alan Ritchie Biel, IPMR Mary May Julhari, academe sector, religious sectors and other stakeholders. (Words by S.J. Asakil/Photos by M. Santos, CIO)